01 · Deal Intelligence
01 · What happened
02 · Deal Intelligence
Stripe buys the layer that decides which model gets the request
Announced 19 August 2026. Price not disclosed by either company. Reported at $7.5 billion.
Stripe has agreed to acquire OpenRouter, the model gateway that routes requests across more than 400 models from more than 80 providers. The announcement went out from San Francisco and Dublin on 19 August 2026. It contains no price. The New York Times reported $7.5 billion the same day, citing a person with knowledge of the agreement, three days after Bloomberg reported a figure above $7 billion.
Three years ago OpenRouter did not exist. It was founded in 2023 by Alex Atallah, previously cofounder and chief technology officer of OpenSea, alongside Louis Vichy and Chris Clark. It employs roughly fifty people in New York. In May 2026 it raised $113 million led by CapitalG at a reported $1.3 billion valuation. Eighty-three days later it agreed to sell.
The strategic framing in the release is precise and worth reading literally. Stripe says it already helps businesses maximise revenue by optimising across payment methods, authorisation rates and fraud. OpenRouter optimises the other side, deciding which model handles which task, at what speed and at what price. Patrick Collison framed the combination as helping companies manage both sides of profitability in the AI era.
“Tokens are the central currency for companies building with AI, and it is clear that the real-world economic potential will depend on making good use of scarce compute resources.”
What is in the announcement, and what is not
The release is generous on strategy and silent on terms. It names three customers, NVIDIA, Zoom and Lovable. It states the model and provider counts. It quotes both chief executives at length on the multi-model thesis. It does not state a price, a consideration mix, a closing date, a condition, or a regulatory jurisdiction. A Stripe spokesperson told TechCrunch the company does not comment on rumours or speculation.
That places every number in this article in one of three categories. Published company figures, such as the platform fee and the model counts. Named press reporting, such as the price. Third-party estimates, such as revenue. The table below marks which is which, and the distinction carries through every chart that follows.
02 · The deal at a glance
03 · Deal Intelligence
Terms as reported
Transaction terms Reported Public record Acquiry calculation Not disclosed
| Acquirer | Stripe, Inc., private, San Francisco and Dublin |
|---|---|
| Target | OpenRouter, Inc., New York, founded 2023 |
| Announced | 19 August 2026, Stripe newsroom |
| Reported consideration | $7.5 billion Reported New York Times, citing a person with knowledge of the agreement. Neither company has confirmed a figure. |
| Earlier reporting | More than $7bn (Bloomberg, 16 Aug); approximately $8bn (Business Insider); approximately $10bn while in talks (Wall Street Journal, 23 Jul) |
| Reported split | $1.5bn to founders, $6.0bn to investors Reported |
| Consideration mix | Not disclosed. Cash and stock referenced in reporting, no split given |
| Capital raised by target | Approximately $164 million across all rounds |
| Last priced round | $113m Series B, 28 May 2026, led by CapitalG at a reported $1.3bn |
| Uplift over the May mark | 5.8× in approximately three months Acquiry calculation $7,500m ÷ $1,300m |
| Estimated annualised revenue | Approximately $140 million Indicative Sacra estimate, July 2026. Not a company figure. |
| Implied EV / revenue | 53.6× Acquiry calculation $7,500m ÷ $140m |
| Platform fee | 5.5 per cent on fiat credit purchases, 5.0 per cent on crypto and BYOK overage Public record |
| Models and providers | More than 400 models from more than 80 providers |
| Developers and companies | More than 10 million |
| Named customers | NVIDIA, Zoom, Lovable |
| Target headcount | 90-person startup, per OpenRouter announcement, August 2026 |
| Advisers | Not disclosed on either side |
| Break fee and deal protections | Not disclosed |
| Regulatory jurisdictions | Not named |
| Expected close | Coming weeks, subject to customary closing conditions |
| Status | Agreement announced. Price undisclosed by both parties |
Where the reported consideration lands
One outlet has published a split of the price between founders and investors. Neither company has confirmed a figure of any kind.
Reported
The split comes from the New York Times, attributed to a single person with knowledge of the agreement. Against $164m of capital raised, $6.0bn to investors implies a strong return for a company founded in 2023. The mix between cash and stock is not disclosed, and that mix determines how much of the value is realised at close and how much rides on Stripe equity.
| How the reported price moved between July and August | Four outlets published four figures over four weeks. The two companies published none. |
|---|---|
| Reported | Not disclosed |
Reporting opened at roughly $10bn while the parties were in talks, settled above $7bn when Bloomberg reported the agreement, and arrived at a specific $7.5bn on the day of announcement. Stripe told TechCrunch it does not comment on rumours or speculation, and both companies declined to disclose the value. Every multiple on this page is built on the reported figure and inherits its uncertainty.
Acquiry calculationMultiple derivation and sensitivity
Only one of the three inputs to the headline multiple is a company figure. The price is press reporting and the revenue is a research estimate, so the multiple carries a band rather than a point value. The grid below runs both inputs across their reported range.
| Price assumption | At $110m revenue | At $140m revenue | At $170m revenue | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $7.0bn | 63.6× | 50.0× | 41.2× | Bloomberg floor, 16 August |
| $7.5bn | 68.2× | 53.6× | 44.1× | New York Times figure |
| $8.0bn | 72.7× | 57.1× | 47.1× | Business Insider figure |
| $10.0bn | 90.9× | 71.4× | 58.8× | Wall Street Journal, while in talks |
Across the full grid the multiple runs from 41× to 91×. The range is wide because the inputs are wide, and no amount of arithmetic narrows it. What can be said is that on every combination in the table this is a growth multiple rather than an earnings multiple, and it is priced against a revenue line that has moved by an estimated factor of 28 in twelve months.
03 · The asset
04 · Deal Intelligence
What OpenRouter actually is, stripped of the gateway marketing
OpenRouter is one API endpoint that reaches more than four hundred models from more than eighty providers, and a routing engine that decides which one handles a given request. That sentence does more work than any product page. The single endpoint is the distribution mechanism: a developer integrates once and gains access to every model on the platform, including ones released after the integration was written. The routing engine is the retention mechanism: once an application is tuned to route on cost, latency and reliability rather than on a hardcoded model name, moving off the platform means rebuilding that logic.
The commercial signature follows from the structure. Adoption starts with a single developer and a test key. Expansion happens as applications move into production and volume grows. Removal is possible, because the API is deliberately OpenAI-compatible, but it means giving up provider failover, price arbitrage across four hundred models, and the accumulated knowledge of which model performs on which task. The asset is not the proxy. It is three years of demand data and eight million developers who already have a key.

The three-layer read
- Access layerOne OpenAI-compatible endpoint, four hundred models, eighty providers, unified billing through a credit balance. Low integration cost. This is what gets it into the codebase.
- Routing layerProvider failover, price and latency optimisation, and quality-aware routing. Published model variants let a developer request the fastest provider, the cheapest provider, or the one tuned for tool-calling reliability. This is what makes it hard to replace.
- Governance layerWorkspaces, spend management, guardrails and zero-data-retention policies. This is where enterprise contracts sit, and where the platform is youngest.
The development opportunity sits on the governance axis. OpenRouter scores highest in its category on breadth, adoption and neutrality. Enterprise controls, audit, observability and procurement-grade apparatus are where Portkey and Braintrust have invested most heavily, and where a 90-person company serving 10 million developers and companies has the clearest room to build. That headroom is a meaningful part of why a platform routing hundreds of trillions of tokens a month is estimated to earn roughly $140 million of net revenue.
04 · Unit economics
05 · Deal Intelligence
The single most important thing to understand about how OpenRouter earns money
Tokens carry no mark-up. The per-token price a customer pays on the platform matches the price the provider charges directly. This is published in the company's own pricing documentation and it is the foundation of the neutrality position: there is no financial reason for the router to prefer one model over another, because it earns the same regardless of which one wins the request.
Revenue comes from a platform fee charged when a customer loads credits. 5.5 per cent on fiat, with an eighty cent minimum. 5.0 per cent on cryptocurrency. 5.0 per cent on the list-price equivalent for customers bringing their own provider keys, after the first million requests a month. Those are published figures, not estimates.
The consequence matters for every multiple in this article. A reported $140 million of annualised revenue at a blended 5.5 per cent fee implies roughly $2.5 billion of annualised inference spend flowing across the platform. Gross routed spend and net revenue differ by a factor of about eighteen, and using the wrong one produces a multiple that is wrong by the same factor.
Gross flow against net revenue Public record Indicative Acquiry calculation
| Measure | Approximate value | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Annualised gross inference spend routed | $2.5bn | Acquiry calculation: $140m divided by a 5.5 per cent blended fee |
| Annualised net revenue | $140m | Sacra estimate, July 2026. Not a company figure |
| Reported gross margin | ~70% | Secondary reporting. Inference cost is paid by the customer from their credit balance, not out of the fee |
| Implied gross profit | ~$98m | Acquiry calculation |
| EV on net revenue | 53.6× | Acquiry calculation at the reported $7.5bn |
| EV on gross profit | 76.5× | Acquiry calculation |
| EV on gross routed spend | 3.0× | Acquiry calculation. Included to show how far the framing moves the answer |
The bottom three rows are the same transaction described three ways. Anyone quoting a multiple on this deal should say which line they are using. Three times gross flow sounds inexpensive; seventy-six times gross profit does not. Both are arithmetically correct.
Why routing has commercial value
Published list price per million input tokens across four widely used models.
Public record
The spread between the cheapest and the most expensive input token in this set is thirty times. That spread is the entire commercial case for a routing layer. Sending a simple classification task to a model priced at three dollars per million tokens when one priced at ten cents would do the job is the cost problem OpenRouter exists to solve, and it is the problem Stripe says it wants to solve alongside the revenue side.
05 · Buyer rationale
06 · Deal Intelligence
Why a payments company writes its largest cheque for an inference router
The buyer has an identifiable acquisition pattern: buy a capability that plugs into the existing money flow, keep the team, fold the product into the platform. Paystack brought African payments. TaxJar became Stripe Tax. Bridge brought stablecoin rails at a confirmed $1.1 billion. Metronome brought usage-based billing. Every one of those was bought to extend what Stripe already did for its customers.
This transaction fits the pattern on strategy and breaks it on scale. At a reported $7.5 billion it is roughly 6.8 times Bridge, which was the largest deal Stripe had done before it, and larger than every prior acquisition combined on any reasonable reading of the reported figures.
The four rationales, ranked by how well the evidence supports them
Strategic rationale, assessed Acquiry assessment
| Rationale | What supports it | What to consider | Support |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owning both sides of the AI margin | Stripe sees what an AI product earns. OpenRouter sees what it costs to serve. Token Billing and Metronome already sit in the stack and need exactly the usage signal OpenRouter produces. | Nothing material. This is the strongest leg of the case and it is the one both chief executives articulated. | Strong |
| Distribution overlap | Stripe reports serving 78 per cent of the Forbes AI 50. Those are the same companies buying inference at scale. OpenRouter brings 10 million developers and companies. | Developer count is not revenue. The conversion from free and low-volume users to enterprise contracts is the work. | Strong |
| Take rate arbitrage | Stripe's blended payments take is roughly 36 basis points. OpenRouter charges 550. Acquiring a fee stream fifteen times richer than the core business is commercially rational. | The richer rate applies to a flow roughly seven hundred times smaller, and it is applied to a unit price that is falling. | Moderate |
| Agentic settlement | Shared Payment Tokens, the Agentic Commerce Protocol and streaming payments all point at machine-to-machine transactions. Combining the request layer with the payment layer is the long-dated case. | The market for autonomous agent settlement is still forming. This is optionality rather than a near-term revenue line. | Directional |
The transaction is underwritten principally on the first two rationales, and they reinforce each other. Stripe is buying the cost side of a customer base it already serves on the revenue side. The remaining items are optionality layered on top rather than the basis for the price.
Reference
Frequently asked questions
How much is Stripe paying for OpenRouter?
Neither company has disclosed a price. The New York Times reported $7.5bn on 19 August 2026, citing a person with knowledge of the agreement. Bloomberg had reported a figure above $7bn three days earlier. Every multiple in this analysis uses the $7.5bn figure and inherits its uncertainty.
Why are several different prices circulating?
Because no confirmed figure exists. The Wall Street Journal reported approximately $10bn on 23 July while the parties were in talks. Bloomberg reported more than $7bn on 16 August. Business Insider reported approximately $8bn. The New York Times published $7.5bn with a proceeds split on 19 August. The parties declined to disclose a value.
Is the deal cash or stock?
Not disclosed. Reporting references both cash and stock without stating the split. That split matters, because it determines how much of the reported value is realised at close and how much depends on Stripe equity.
How is the reported price split between founders and investors?
The New York Times reported approximately $1.5bn to the three founders and approximately $6.0bn to investors. Both figures come from the same single unnamed source.
When is it expected to close?
Not stated. The announcement contains no closing date, no conditions and no named regulatory jurisdictions.
What is the strategic rationale?
Stripe optimises the revenue side of its customers' businesses through payment methods, authorisation rates and fraud tooling. OpenRouter optimises the cost side by routing each request to an appropriate model on price, speed and reliability. Patrick Collison framed the combination as addressing both sides of profitability in the AI era.
Who advised on the transaction?
Not disclosed on either side. Advisers are frequently unnamed in private-to-private transactions where no filing requires disclosure.
Does OpenRouter continue as a standalone product?
Not addressed in the announcement. Stripe's precedents point both ways: Bridge kept its team and products after the 2025 acquisition, while TaxJar became Stripe Tax and Okay was folded into internal engineering.
What multiple does the deal imply?
Approximately 53.6 times enterprise value to annualised net revenue, using the reported $7.5bn against an estimated $140m. On gross profit at a reported 70 per cent margin the multiple is approximately 76.5 times. On gross routed spend of approximately $2.5bn it is approximately 3.0 times. All three describe the same transaction.
Which multiple should be used for comparison?
Enterprise value to net revenue, at 53.6 times, is the comparable measure. Gross routed spend is the money customers spend on inference, most of which passes straight through to model providers, so a multiple on that number understates the price by roughly a factor of eighteen.
Is 53.6 times high for a software business?
It is far above conventional software multiples and inside the range recent AI infrastructure transactions have cleared at. Nvidia paid roughly 106 times for Run:ai. Databricks paid roughly 65 times for MosaicML and a reported multiple in the region of 2,000 times for Tabular. Google paid roughly 43 times for Wiz on reported figures.
What justifies a multiple at that level?
Growth. OpenRouter is estimated to have moved from roughly $5m to roughly $140m of annualised revenue in twelve months, an increase of about twenty-eight times. A multiple set against that trajectory behaves differently from one set against a stable revenue base.
How does this compare with the May 2026 valuation?
The Series B was reported at $1.3bn post-money on 28 May 2026. A reported $7.5bn eighty-three days later is an uplift of approximately 5.8 times. The two are different instruments: a Series B prices a minority preferred stake with protective terms, while an acquisition prices the whole company including control.
How does the price compare with capital raised?
Total capital raised across all rounds is approximately $164m. A reported $7.5bn is roughly forty-six times that figure. On the reported split, investors receive approximately $6.0bn, or roughly thirty-seven times aggregate primary capital.
What is the revenue estimate based on?
The $140m annualised figure comes from Sacra, a research firm, published in July 2026. Neither company has confirmed revenue. The estimate is consistent with OpenRouter's published fee schedule and published token volumes, but it remains an estimate.
What does OpenRouter actually do?
It provides a single OpenAI-compatible API endpoint that reaches more than 400 models from more than 80 providers, and routes each request based on price, latency, availability and task fit. A developer integrates once rather than separately with each provider.
How does OpenRouter make money?
It charges a platform fee when customers load credits: 5.5 per cent on fiat with an eighty cent minimum, 5.0 per cent on cryptocurrency, and 5.0 per cent on the list-price equivalent for customers bringing their own provider keys after the first million requests a month. It does not mark up tokens; per-token cost matches the provider's direct price.
How large is OpenRouter?
More than 10 million developers and companies, more than 400 models, more than 80 providers, and a 90-person startup at announcement. Weekly token volume went from 5 trillion in November 2025 to 25 trillion in May 2026. Named customers include NVIDIA, Zoom and Lovable.
Who founded OpenRouter?
Alex Atallah, previously cofounder and chief technology officer of OpenSea, alongside Louis Vichy and Chris Clark. The company was founded in 2023 and is based in New York.
How large is Stripe?
Total payment volume reached $1.9 trillion in 2025, up 34 per cent, with the company valued at $159bn in a February 2026 employee tender. The Information reported approximately $6.8bn of net revenue and approximately $3.2bn of free cash flow for 2025. The company remains private.
Is this Stripe's largest acquisition?
Yes, by a wide margin. Bridge at a confirmed $1.1bn in 2025 was previously the largest. At a reported $7.5bn this transaction is roughly 6.8 times that, and larger than every prior Stripe acquisition combined on any reasonable reading of the reported figures.
What is the main economic question in the transaction?
Whether volume growth continues to outrun price decline. OpenRouter charges a flat percentage of what customers spend on inference, and inference prices are falling three to five times a year on published projections. Monetisation per token declined roughly 60 per cent between March and August 2026 on third-party estimates, while volume grew fast enough to more than offset it.
How defensible is the position?
The routing software itself is reproducible, and this is the most common technical objection. What takes longer to build is more than eighty negotiated provider relationships, three years of demand data on which model performs on which task, published rankings developers treat as a reference, and eight million existing integrations.
Does neutrality survive corporate ownership?
Both chief executives addressed this directly in the announcement. OpenRouter's commercial position rests on being unaligned with any model provider and on not marking up tokens. Whether that holds is now something the combined company demonstrates through published pricing and routing behaviour rather than something guaranteed by independence.
Are there regulatory considerations?
At the reported size the transaction sits well above the 2026 US premerger notification threshold of $133.9m, so a Hart-Scott-Rodino filing is required. Stripe operates from San Francisco and Dublin and OpenRouter serves a global developer base, so more than one filing is likely. Neither company has named the jurisdictions or a timetable.
Does this set a benchmark for other AI infrastructure companies?
It adds a visible reference point. A three-year-old company with a 90-person team at announcement and an estimated $140m of annualised revenue reportedly clearing at $7.5bn is now a comparable that boards and investors in adjacent businesses will be asked about. How closely it applies depends on how similar the asset is, and the reported nature of the price should be stated whenever it is cited.




